Veganism is a more austere form of vegetarianism. A vegetarian sticks to a plant-based diet and abstains from eating meat. A vegan goes a step further and excludes all animal products from his diet, including eggs, dairy products, honey, gelatin, lard, etc
Soybeans in the form of soy milk and tofu constitute the staple diet of vegans they are considered a complete protein. Cow’s milk is substituted by coconut or almond milk. Vegans also consume nuts, grains and pulses.
The term vegan was coined in 1944 by Donald Watson when he co-founded the Vegan Society in England. He intended the word to represent the ‘the beginning and end of vegetarian’.
Ethical vegans extend the philosophy to their daily lives avoiding any form of animal products for any other purpose. Veganism became popular in the 2000s as vegan food became more easily available in supermarkets.
Picture Credit : Google