Why is it said that Ancient Greek history has been divided into different ages?

          The history of Ancient Greece is divided into different ages. The Bronze Age was the period between 2900 BC and 1200 BC. Then came the Dark Age about which little is known. The Archaic Age followed, which was from 800 to 500 BC. During this period a new alphabet was introduced, and many overseas settlements were established. The first independent city states began to develop during this Age.

          The next was the Classical Age, which was in between 5th and 4th century BC. During this time, Athens was governed by a democracy and great philosophers like Socrates and Plato appeared. The war between Athens and Sparta was also during this Age. With the death of Alexander the Great, Classical Age in Ancient Greece came to an end.

          Then came Hellenistic period. Timeline of the period falls in between the death of Alexander the Great in 323 BC and the establishment of Roman supremacy.