Which are the powers held by the President of India?

               In Indian Parliamentary practice, the President is the nominal executive, or a Constitutional ruler. He is the head of the nation, but does not govern the nation.

               However, the president of India holds various powers. The powers and the functions of the President of India may be classified under five heads, executive, legislative, financial, judicial and emergency.

               Legislative power is constitutionally vested by the Parliament of India of which the President is the head, to facilitate the law making process. The President has the power of to summon and prorogue both the Houses of Parliament. He can also dissolve the House of the People before the expiry of its term. Generally, the President addresses the Parliament after the general elections.

               The President of India is the head of the executive of the Union Government. The President appoints the Governors of the States, the Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts of the States. The Prime Minister of India is appointed by the President, The President also appoints other Ministers in consultation with the Prime Minister.

Pictures Credit : Google