Why the Lok Sabha is called the house of the people?

 The Lok Sabha is called the house of the people because its members are elected directly by the people. Every citizen of India who is above 18 years of age is eligible to vote. The Lok Sabha has a maximum strength of 552 members. Of these, up to 530 members represent the states, while up to 20 members represent the union territories, and not more two members of the Anglo-Indian community can be nominated by the President.

The Lok Sabha has a fixed term of five years. However, it can be dissolved earlier under certain circumstances.

The Lok Sabha elects one of its own members as its presiding officer and he is called the Speaker. He is assisted by the Deputy Speaker who is also elected by the Lok Sabha.