Who was the 9th President of India?

Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (25 July 1992 – 25 July 1997)

Shankar Dayal Sharma was the ninth President of India, and served his tenure from 1992 to 1997. Before he was elected to the post of president, he served as the eighth vice president of India under R. Venkataraman. Sharma was the only president other than R. Venkataraman in the 20th century, to work with four prime ministers, and appoint three of them.

Shankar Dayal Sharma was born on 19th August 1918 in Bhopal. After completing his education he worked at the Cambridge University and Lucknow University. He was an internationally acclaimed legal luminary and his articles have been published in many reputed international journals.

Sharma was a participant of India’s freedom struggle and also a member of the Indian National Congress. In the year 1952, he became the chief minister of the former state of Bhopal. Later, Sharma served as a communication minister from 1974 to 1977 in the cabinet of Indira Gandhi. Shankar Dayal Sharma was sworn in as the President of India on 25 July 1992 and remained in office till 25 July 1997.

Picture Credit : Google 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *