Who was first female President of India?

Pratibha Patil (25 July 2007 – 25 July 2012)

Pratibha Patil was the 12th President of India. She was the first and the only woman to hold this office. She served as the president from 2007 to 2012. She held the post till 25th July, 2012 and was succeeded by Pranab Mukherjee. In her long political career she had held several impressive ministerial portfolios in Maharashtra. A lawyer by profession, she has also served as the Governor of Rajasthan.

Pratibha Patil was born on 19th December 1934, in Nadgaon, a village in the Jalgaon district of Maharashtra. She received her bachelor’s degree in law from Government Law College, Mumbai. She pursued her Masters in Political Science and Economics from Mooljee Jetha College, Jalgaon.

Pratibha Patil began her political career at the age of 27 by joining the Indian National Congress in 1962. On 8th November 2004, she was appointed as the 25th Governor of Rajasthan and became the first woman to hold that office till 2007. In 2007, Pratibha Patil entered the presidential battle, and won with a distinct edge over her rival Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, defeating him by more than three lakh votes. On 25th July 2007, she was sworn in, becoming the first female President of India. She was succeeded by Pranab Mukher jee.

Picture Credit : Google 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *